List

Category
Audience
Tags

That's My Sweater!

Jessika von Innerebner

An outrageously funny sibling rivalry story with a hand-me-down twist

Olivia loves her favorite sweater. I mean, she really really loves it. So when her mom decides it's time to hand it down to Olivia's baby brother, Olivia vows that she will not rest until she and her beloved sweater are reunited.

In her riotously funny new picture book, Kevin the Unicorn creator Jessika von Innerebner puts an oh-so-satisfying spin on an age-old conflict that is bound to delight siblings of all stripes.

View Details >>

The Worst Teddy Ever

Marcelo Verdad

Meet Noa and the worst Teddy EVER in this sweet, funny debut about the unrecognized heroes in our lives, for fans of Mac Barnett and Christian Robinson. A Spanish edition, El peor Teddy del mundo, is also available for purchase.

Noa LOVES Teddy. But Teddy is ALWAYS tired! Why is Teddy always too sleepy to play with Noa during the day? It turns out that Teddy has a good reason, and Noa is in the dark about what's happening behind the scenes at night...when Teddy works tirelessly to protect his little boy from a colorful ensemble of unwelcome nighttime visitors!

At once laugh-out-loud funny and endearing, Marcelo Verdad's outstanding debut picture book explores how expectations don't always allow us to see others for who they truly are, and how sometimes what we want isn't always what we need.

View Details >>

Well Done, Mommy Penguin

Chris Haughton

With his vibrant, stylish art and spot-on visual storytelling, Chris Haughton turns to Antarctica for an irresistible ode to family bonds and awesome moms.

"She'll be back soon, won't she?"
"She sure will," says Daddy Penguin.

The sky may be dark over icy waters, but Mommy Penguin is off to catch some fish for dinner. As Daddy and Little Penguin watch in suspense, Mommy swims, jumps, and climbs up a slippery slope, barely avoiding a plunge back into the sea. Well done! There's just one more hurdle to overcome, past some grumpy, just-awakened seals, before she returns to her anxiously waiting family. With a nod to the fascinating nature of penguin parenting, this boldly illustrated adventure from the creator of Little Owl Lost and Oh No, George! will have little ones happily on the edge of their seats as they root for Mommy Penguin.

View Details >>

This Book Is Not a Present

Max Greenfield

A hilarious picture book companion to I Don't Want to Read This Book by actor Max Greenfield.

We all know kids who carry a book everywhere they go. Kids who can't stop reading, even if it's long after bedtime. Kids who love nothing more than sitting quietly in the corner, turning page after page...

This book is a love letter to all the other kids. The ones who wouldn't dream of asking for a book as a present. The ones who unwrap the box hoping to find anything--a dog, a skateboard, even socks--besides a book.

Packed with clever, fourth-wall-breaking gags from Max Greenfield (New Girl) and eye-popping art from New York Times bestselling illustrator Mike Lowery, this ideal read-aloud may not wag its tail or come with wheels, but it's sure to have even the most reluctant bibliophiles laughing all the way to the end.

View Details >>

The Arnold Lobel Book of Mother Goose

Arnold Lobel

A stunning and picture book reissue of the “brilliant” (The New York Times Book Review) classic Mother Goose collection of over 300 rhymes illustrated by Caldecott Medal winner Arnold Lobel.

This treasury of 302 timeless rhymes includes both favorite and less familiar verses that are the foundation of any child’s language development, such as “This little pig went to market” and “There was an old woman who lived in a shoe.” In a starred review, School Library Journal said this gorgeous collection was “brimming over with energy…distinguished by abundant humor and a rich variety of moods and styles.”

View Details >>

Rainbow Fish and the Storyteller

Marcus Pfister

A sparkling book about tall tales!

When Rainbow Fish meets a new friend, Humbert, he isn’t sure what to think. Humbert tells all kinds of strange stories: Somewhere at the bottom of the ocean there’s a plug!

There’s a blue whale living near here . . . and he’s going to eat up all of our food.

But before Rainbow Fish and his friends panic, they realize that Humbert just likes to make up tall tales. Rainbow Fish and his friends soon come up with an idea that might make them all happy—even Humbert.

View Details >>

Daisy's Bedtime

Dianne Bates

A familiar bedtime story about a girl who can't sleep, not even when mom and dad do everything they can to help her. For sleepyheads ages 4 years and up.

 

Daisy can't sleep! Mommy read her a story and Daddy sung her a lullaby, but nothing helps. Daddy encourages Daisy to think of something lovely. Then she'll fall asleep. Will it work?

View Details >>

Ruffles and the Teeny, Tiny Kittens

David Melling

Join Ruffles as he faces the trials and tribulations of preschool life in this bright picture book series from award-winning author and illustrator David Melling.

As Ruffles learns about the world around him, he discovers there are lots of things he likes . . . and some things he doesn't! He loves scratching, digging, and chewing, but he does not like the teeny, tiny kittens. No, no, no, no, NO! They pounce and purr and snore and chase and poop! Worst of all, they want to play with Ruffles's blue blanket, and Ruffles doesn't want to share. But the teeny, tiny kittens don't understand, and there's trouble when the blue blanket is accidentally ripped. Luckily, Ruffles's new feline friends show him how sharing together is the very best way to make friends and play.

View Details >>

I Am Picky

Kristen Tracy

A laugh-out-loud picture book about a self-proclaimed picky eater of a raccoon—perfect for human picky eaters!

Don’t look at this raccoon and think she’ll eat just anything. Oh, no. She is picky! She’s been choosy forever—and listen, it’s a tough life. It’s not as though the perfect snacks just fall from the sky (except when they do). You’ve got to work to find the sourest milk, the crunchiest bumblebees, and the most delicious trash. Snacking while picky is a real challenge sometimes...but you never know where you’ll find the tastiest treats to try!

From children's author Kristen Tracy and rising star illustrator Erin Kraan, I AM PICKY is sure to delight even the choosiest of eaters—and readers.

View Details >>

Scaredy Squirrel Visits the Doctor

Melanie Watt

Scaredy Squirrel is exactly the character children need today--a little bit anxious, a lot adorable, and totally lovable. They will laugh along in this new picture book as Scaredy learns to brave the doctor for his regular check-up!

Scaredy exercises, eats healthy foods, and stays very, very safe. But even healthy squirrels need to get a regular check up! Going to the vet can be scaaary, especially if you're Scaredy.

As young listeners see Scaredy face his fears in the silliest of ways, they gain perspective and courage, empowering them to tackle their own worries with a big smile.

View Details >>

Fall Frolic in the City

Cathy Goldberg Fishman

A fall frolic in the city.
What do I see?
One pile of red leaves
Under a tree.



Frolic through the city in the fall and experience the sights, sounds, colors, and smells of the multitude of different holidays we celebrate this season. From Rosh Hashanah to Halloween and Día de Muertos, everyone has a reason to celebrate. With simple rhymes, a counting pattern, and stunning papercraft art reminiscent of Ezra Jack Keats, this diverse board book is the perfect introduction to autumn and the cultural melting pot that makes the city so special.

View Details >>

Where's the Fire Truck?

Nosy Crow

Five beautifully illustrated spreads show a series of vehicles that include a police car, an ambulance, a helicopter, and a fire truck all hiding behind bright felt flaps. With a mirror on the final page, this is the perfect book to share with very little ones.

View Details >>

Chomp! Chomp! I'm a Shark!

Jo Lodge

Dive under the sea with this interactive first introduction to sharks, a chunky board book with sliding tabs!

 

Discover a first introduction to sharks, in this super sturdy, chunky board book with sliding tabs. Little ones will delight at the exciting tabs that make the sharks swim and move on every spread, from the swish of the tiger shark's stripy tail to the chomp of the great white shark's mouth. A nonfiction fact on every spread presents additional learning opportunities for your little one. Combining simple vocabulary with bright and colorful illustrations, direct action words, light nonfiction, and captivating novelty, this board book is sure to delight and excite as it withstands reading again and again.

View Details >>

Help-A-Lot Shabbat

Nancy Cote

There's so much to do before Shabbat starts!

It's time to get ready for Shabbat and this brother-sister team are more than eager to help. Once the sun starts to set and the Shabbat chores are finished, it's time to set the table. The fresh challah begs to be nibbled and--oops--there goes the wine. All two-legged and four-legged friends are welcome for Shabbat dinner. As night descends on the city, the home is cozy and aglow with the special light of Shabbat.

 

View Details >>

Adurable: This Pup Is Stuck!

Bob Shea

These cute pups are in big trucks and ready to dig! Book two of this original board book series is perfect for toddlers with big building dreams.

Dig Doug, Puddles, and Cheddar are ready for a big day at puppy school. Today they have an extra big project--using their construction trucks to dig a swimming pool! Dig Doug is so happy because Dig Doug LOVES to dig. But when he digs a bit too deep, his puppy friends must figure out a plan to save him.

View Details >>